How did National Move Over Law Day start?

It was introduced by the 117th Congress in the House (H.Res.1052) on April 11, 2022.

This resolution expresses support for the goals and ideals of a National Move Over Law Day and urges national, state, and regional incident management organizations to spread awareness of, and promote the existence of, and adherence to, state move over laws. Move over laws generally require motorists to move at least one lane over when an emergency or rescue activity is taking place on the shoulder or side of the roadway, or, if unable to do so safely, to slow down and pass the scene with caution.

MARYLAND - Motorists in Maryland must move over when approaching emergency, law enforcement, tow truck, utility, and transportation vehicles while they are stopped, standing, or parked on a highway with their red, amber, or yellow lights flashing. If it is not safe or feasible to move over, motorists must slow to a reasonable and prudent speed that is safe for existing weather, road, and vehicular or pedestrian traffic conditions.

The Move Over Law in Maryland has expanded to require motorists to make a lane change or slow down when approaching any stopped, standing, or parked vehicle displaying warning signals – including hazard warning lights, road flares, or other caution signals including traffic cones, caution signs, or non-vehicular warning signs. The expanded law is in place to protect law enforcement, emergency responders, and any motorist that may encounter a roadside emergency and must stop near travel lanes.


Violating the law is a misdemeanor carrying a $110 fine and one point on your license. If the violation causes a crash, the fine is $150 and three points. If there is a death or serious injury, the fine is $750 and three points.